WorldSBK | Toprak Razgatlioglu Pulls off Valentino Rossi-esque Move to Seal Superpole Victory, Bautista Wins Race 2


If you thought you’d seen it all in the WorldSBK Superbike Championship, Catalunya just raised the bar. Picture this: Toprak Razgatlioglu, with a Valentino Rossi-like maneuver, snatches the Superpole race victory from Alvaro Bautista’s grasp in a nail-biting final corner showdown at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. If that doesn’t get your heart racing, I don’t know what will!

From the get-go, it was a rollercoaster of adrenaline-pumping action. Andrea Iannone stormed off the line, leaving everyone in his dust, while Toprak Razgatlioglu and Alex Lowes jostled for position. But it was Sam Lowes who stole the spotlight, only to be dethroned by Razgatlioglu’s daring move to the front.

As the race heated up, Bautista staged a comeback, setting the stage for an epic battle in the final laps. With the top four riders neck and neck, every corner became a battleground. Bautista made his move, seizing the lead from Razgatlioglu, but the drama was far from over.

toprak bmw worldsbk

In a move reminiscent of Rossi’s legendary pass on Lorenzo in 2009, Razgatlioglu launched a daring attack in the final corner, leaving Bautista in his wake. The crowd erupted as Razgatlioglu crossed the finish line, securing his second win of the weekend.

But Bautista wasn’t about to let Razgatlioglu steal all the glory. In Race 2, he came back with a vengeance, engaging in a fierce battle with teammate Nicolo Bulega. It was a fight to the finish, with Bautista emerging victorious, marking his first win of the season.

The drama didn’t end there. With Iannone crashing out and Petrucci making a late surge, the race was a rollercoaster of emotions from start to finish.

In the end, it was Razgatlioglu who stole the show with his fearless performance, proving once again why the WorldSBK Championship is a must-watch for any motorsport enthusiast.

bautista ducati worldsbk

The championship standings are as follows:

1Nicolo BulegaDucati87
2Alvaro BautistaDucati75
3Alex LowesKawasaki75
4Toprak RazgatliogluBMW71
5Andrea IannoneDucati51
6Danilo PetrucciDucati47
7Andrea LocatelliYamaha45
8Michael Van Der MarkBMW40
9Dominique AegerterYamaha34
10Garrett GerloffBMW25

Anyway, the WorldSBK Championship returns from April 19th to 21st, with the Dutch round, at the TT Assen circuit.

For more info, access the WorldSBK website.


Marcelo Souza

Author, Editor and Administrator of the MotoNews World website, graduated in Accounting, passionate about motorcycles and technology.

Logo created by DesignEvo logo maker